Change

December 14, 2006 at 1:21 pm (Open)

Hola..Here are some thoughts that I had this week. First of all, my priorities need to change in order for me to be the most effective at learning spanish and experiencing the culture(Spain). I need to be more disicplined in my study habits(both scripture and spanish) and working out. The second thought was a picture of how Jesus wants to kill my pride or in other words me(Jesus said that in order the follow Him I need to take up my cross and deny myself). Its allowing defeat to enter mylife. At times its very easy for me to feel that my ideas our getting pushed aside by others or that my way of doing something is not right(even though my ideas may be as valid as others) but for me to feel disrespected or in better terms disregarded( Maybe Im just sensitive..who knows)… By embracing this defeat and making it a point too not prove that I am right(even though I may be or not) will eventually become my victory as I “allow” my pride to be put to death. Do this makes sense? If not sorry.. The third thing that I believe God is trying to tell me, is how I go about treating others… For example, do I cut other people off when they are talking or do I ignor someone when they are speaking or in the many other ways that I can be insensitive to others. So this was the thought… Would I treat Jesus this way? Would I not give complete attention to Jesus if He were talking to me or would I cut Him off if He were talking to someone else. Think about this.. and this may sound wierd, but in how I respond to women… Would I be a big flirt with Jesus?(We are supposed to treat others as He did and does)( I have my moments where I can be a big flirt with the ladies) I understand that as a man thats my tendency but I think that I can go a little over board at times. “I need to save all that flirtation for my wife so she can enjoy all my affection instead of giving it away like happy meal toys”. Why am I saying all this…This is my life, this is what I am going through, and these are the areas where Jesus wants me to work on so that I can become sanctified and set apart for His Kingdom(sacntification is a process and as His child my position never changes but there are levels of commitment to God and that commitment can determine How He will use me)… Derek Webb one of my favorite song writers xplained that one of the best things that could happen to Christians is if we “just exposed our sin” and “put it out on the five o clock news” instead of hiding it and trying to be perceieved as little perfect people. The scritures say, that we should confess our sins one to another so that we may be healed; So! this is my little confession of how I fail(not studying,prideful,not thinking how I really treat people at times)and some of the areas of my life that are lacking effort and discipline. So I hope that we all examine our lives and ask God to show us our faults or areas of improvement so we can call them what they are “sin”,”mistakes”,”disobeince”, “not doing the best thing” whatever you want to called just call it out and “CHANGE”.. Thats whats going on in my life a “CHANGE” or a “CHALLENGE” from God to “Give” it all up for Him.Will I succed “not on my own”. I need to be empty so only HE can fill me…I am happy in Life, Jesus is amazing everyday and treats me as a son and as a good Father He is loving in His discpline. My time here in Spain has been and still is one of the most exciting times of my life, thus far and I know that Jesus has many more great things for my life but because He loves me He doesnt want to leave me with all of these ruff edges and desires to shine me up like a flawless peice of silver where He can only see His reflection and that is where I know that I will be the happiest. Jesus Loves you and Died for you. He lived(FACT),died(FACT),Resurrected(FACT). ALL THIS FOR YOU.

Leave a Reply

